Blue ticks effect: WhatsApp to soon let you unsend embarrassing messages after being sent

WhatsApp
  • WhatsApp is working on a feature that could let users unsend embarrassing messages
  • The feature only allows users to recall messages if they haven’t already been seen by the recipient
  • It will allow users to notify all their contacts automatically with a single tap

WhatsApp is reportedly working on a feature that could let users unsend embarrassing messages after they have been sent.

The latest beta release from the Facebook-owned messaging app reportedly includes the option to revoke a message within five minutes of it being sent.

The new feature would potentially be a godsend to anyone prone to typos or drunk texting.

But just because it's included in the beta release doesn't necessarily mean it will roll out to the public.

Last year WhatsApp was rumoured to be working on a version of the unsend feature that only allowed users to recall messages if they hadn't already been seen by the recipient.

As long as the double-blue tick wasn't showing, users could reportedly press and hold on a message to bring up the options to edit or revoke the message.

The latest beta release suggests WhatsApp is looking at different ways the feature could work. If feedback from the trial proves positive, there's no reason it shouldn't be rolled out more widely.

According to the Twitter account @WABetaInfo, which first revealed details of the "unsend" feature, it is most likely to launch with WhatsApp's next official iOS update.

The beta release includes a number of other changes the app, including new font shortcuts and the ability to share your location with other users.

There's also a new "change number" feature, which could make it easier to notify your contacts if you change your phone number.

According to a screenshot shared by @WABetaInfo, the new feature will allow users to notify all their contacts automatically with a single tap.


JOIN THE CONVERSATION


next