Standard Digital Entertainment

The 'Furious 8' has biggest global box office debut of all time beating Star Wars and Jurassic World

By Mirror | Monday, Apr 17th 2017 at 11:41

The Fate Of The Furious has had the biggest global box office debut of all time.

Earning $532.5million in its opening weekend, it beat the likes of Star Wars: The Force Awakens - which got $529million - and Jurassic World's $316.7million.

The Fate of the Furious is the eight film in the Fast & Furious racing franchise.

Furious 7 earned $400million in its opening weekend, having been Paul Walker's last film before he died in a car accident.

But The Fate of the Furious is the first film without him, and it has newcomers Charlize Theron and Helen Mirren.

As well as Charlize and Helen joining, veterans Vin Diesel and Dwayne Johnson return.

And it also brings back Kurt Russell, Ludacris, Tyrese Gibson, Jason Statham, and Michelle Rodriguez.

Directed by F. Gary Gray, the film follows the crew as they grapple with Dom’s betrayal and alliance with a mysterious hacker - played by Charlize.

Universal didn’t provide a budget, but sources peg the cost at $250 million, making it the most expensive chapter in the series.

Every film in the franchise seems to escalate the mayhem so InsuretheGap watched all seven movies to work out exactly what damage was done.

After 13 hours of carnage, illegal street racing and heists the verdict is in on the eye-watering total. It's a cool £420m.

Despite the rising costs, the film remains on pace to top $1 billion worldwide, making more sequels a certainty.

You can catch the action at IMAX Nairobi at Mama Ngina or IMAX Panari.

Do you have something to add to this story? Comment here.
Share this story:
Google Plus

Thousands flock to 'Jesus Rock' in Kisumu sparking fears of cholera outbreak
Kisumu villagers claim to see images of Mary and Jesus on rock
From a watchie to company CEO
Nairobi's hottest matatu: Back with a ‘deadly’ Sting in Komarock


Comment Policy